Applying for a student Visa in Spain

All foreign students wishing to remain in Spain for a period of more than 90 days and who are NOT citizens of a European Union Member State, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Switzerland, are required to apply for a long term STUDENT VISA in order to study in Spain.

— Spanish Law

A student visa is mandatory for any foreign student wishing to study in Spain for 3 months or more. You can only apply for your visa from the Spanish Consulate or Embassy that has jurisdiction in your state or country of permanent residence. We can inform you of this jurisdiction and the address of the adequate Spanish Consulate or Embassy. Applications will only be accepted from students whose permanent address is part of the correct Spanish Consulate or Embassy jusrisdiction.

The visa is processed in your country of residence prior to your departure. You cannot get the visa in Spain and you cannot have it sent to you. The visa is affixed in your passport before you depart your country and must be presented at the police border officials upon your entry into Spain. Due to overwhelming demand for student visas, it is important that you allow enough time for the Spanish Consulate or Embassy to process your visa.

Need more information? Request our assistance on visa applications and learn all about visa requirements.

Countries whose citizens require a visa for stays of any length in Spain

Afghanistan, Albania, Angola, Antigua y Barbuda, Saudi Arabia, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Burma/Myanmar, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, North Korea, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Macedonia, The Phillippines, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ecuatorial Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Laos, Lesotho, Lebanon, Liberia, Lybia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Northern Mariana Islands, Morocco, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Qatar, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of The Congo, Dominican Republic, Russia, Rwanda, Solomon Islands, Samoa, St. Vicent & The Grenadines, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia São Tomé & Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia & Montenegro, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Syria, Somalia, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Thailand, Taiwan, Tanzania, Tajikistan, East Timor, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe, The Paletinian Authority.

Countries whose citizens do not require a visa for stays of up to 90 days in Spain

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Darussalam, El Salvador, Estonia, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong-Kong - Special Administrative Region (People's Republic of China), Hungary, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Macao - Special Administrative Region (People's Republic of China), Malta, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela.

back to top